My Very 1st Lego Set.

What better way to start this blog in  regards to Legos than my very first Lego set as a tot? This set was released (in the US) back in 1975, but I remember getting it around ’77, which would have put me at around 6 years old.

I remember it was purchased at Toyville in the Stonewood Center in Downey, Ca. Back then, the entire venue was an open-air marketplace and not enclosed like it has been for at least 20 years.

So, 1977…I was already introduced to Hot Wheels and board games and that was pretty much it. The Star Wars phenom did not exist quite just yet so…..no action figures of ANY kind <<<<<< Man, that felt weird to remember a time before Star Wars :o.  I can’t even recall what made me choose this set in the first place but I remember the Lego commercials and how they appealed to me. I honestly can’t remember what made me choose this set than any other ones present at the time.

I remember getting it to my Grandma’s house, opening the 16 pc set and unfolding the directions to assemble it. A whopping 1 page, two-sided illustration of the set itself.

Little did I know that this was to be the first of alot of Lego instructions that I would come across since then.  I know it’s not the best pic of the instructions to see the full detail of the how-to process but I’ll see if I can resize and edit to post at a later time. It still does show the simplicity of putting one of these sets together. Heck….I was only 6 when I did.

It wasn’t until the following year (’78) when I radically increased my Lego collection via allowance, birthdays, Easter and Christmas presents in choosing the Legoland series. which mainly consisted of the construction vehicles and soon, in the coming years…it spilled over to small houses, then Police and Fire Stations and buying up as many roadplates to have my version of a full-on Lego City in my room.

So there you have it.  And to think that It all started w/a little 16 pc Lego biplane set.

 

Leave a Reply

