MOC Space Police Cell Block

BREAKIN’ THE LAW….BREAKIN’ THE LAWWWW!!!!!!

At this time last year, my son and I had just completed collecting and building all of the first wave of the Lego Space Police genre. It was the genre that re-introduced me to the world of  Lego after a 20+ year hiatus, so I was constantly checking the TLG (The Lego Group) website at Lego.com for anything that had to do w/the Space Police.

As a marketing tool, TLG was in fact releasing some short vids (a few minutes long each) showing crimes being committed in space by some nefarious aliens known as “The Black Hole Gang” and how the Space Police were gonna handle the situation. I was filled w/awe at viewing all of the buildings and scenery that were put together for these vids. One of these builds was the Space Police HQ, created by David Pagano of Queens, NY. David is also the creator of the vids for Lego. For more impressive creations by David, check out his Flickr account.

I’m a sucker for detail and this SPHQ was flowing with it, but I was wondering when this set was gonna grace the Space Police section via a playset, on the Lego’s website. So naturally, I was awaiting anything new that pertained to the Space Police.

Right around Christmas time last year, I discovered 2 new Space Police sets that were being released around the following new year. This was major news for my son and I because it meant that more sets are sure to follow. unfortunately…

I’m rather impatient

….and I decided to do something that I’ve never done before even when I was playin’ w/Lego’s when I was younger; and that was to build my own Lego set from the ground up, particularily…a Space Police HQ designed by myself. All that time I was going to use the Space Police HQ featured on the Space Police vids as a starting point and something to keep me motivated on what may be a humongous task.

Another means of motivation was to periodically check the Lego photo albums via Flickr. Every single time I view these albums…my brain just goes into some overload of ideas that were in those albums. There are alot of very talented builders out there and I’m hoping some day, to be able to build some wild stuff like they have.

Another trip to the Lego Store

So, with all these ideas in my head and with motivation in toe, I head out to The Lego store (Downtown Disney-Anaheim, Ca) to see what the good ol’ PAB section had to offer. I was in shock to find these plates in one of the bins, I grabbed a bunch or should I say, whatever I could’ve crammed in the $14.99 priced cup which ended up being about 33 plates. I grabbed some other types of bryxx that I rendered useful and got the heck outta Dodge.

And now…for the groundbreaking, er…groundbuilding.

16 X 16 base build

Never before that day did I ever have the chance to have so many of these plates to play with. Actually, now that I think about it, I’ve NEVER had a single set that utilized these pieces. So I started to line’em up this way or that way, heck….I even stacked all 33 plates loosely just to see how high these plates would’ve reached. I knew ahead of time NOT to press’em together. It would’ve been a real chore taking’em apart w/the brick separator, let alone your fingertips and/or nails. Then I decided to put’em all adjacent to each other in a 16×16 base pattern and at that point, the ideas for the number of doors and other details of the cell block were starting to emerge.

Other ideas came from the current Lego City: Police Head Quarters still sittin’ in the shelves in retail. But as I got to thinking, I have four 8×8 plates resting as one 16×16. I should use each plate as a single jail cell but combine them all into one jail cell block….which meant 4 jail cell doors were needed. Luckily I had some purchased during an earlier visit to another Lego store. (Ontario, Ca.)

I still need more bryxx.

The Lego Store is great and all but it goes without saying that I leave there empty-handed more so than I leave w/what I’m looking for. It was at this time that I discovered Bricklink.com and the vast array of stores owned by Lego collectors, builders and merchants. After spending alot of hours by looking at a collective of all the different bricks that were available for purchase, I was awestruck again by the different types of bricks that I never knew that even existed, which pushed that creative and idea envelope alot further. Thanks to bricklink, my first custom build of this type was starting to take shape. The only difficult aspect of the build, was waiting patiently for the parts from several different stores to get to my hot little hands. Luckily for me, my transactions w/all my sellers were very smooth indeed.

Let’s have some features.

Front profile of cell block.

Here we have a pic of the cell block featuring 2 cell doors w/red and green indicators to show that the doors are either locked or not. What ya see on this side is exactly like the otherside, w/the exception of the camera being on the right and the cell block power transmitter on the left. On the rooftop of each cell, rests an occupancy indicator to alert the cell block officer of which cell is empty or occupied. In the center, rests the power supply for the lasers separating the adjacent cells inside the whole cell block.

View of cell block transmitter.

The light in the center resting between the 2 observatory windows, is the power transmitter for the entire cell block. I should state that obviously none of the “lights” that are featured on my build actually light, you’ll just have to use your imagination. ;). With that said, imagine that the red light is on and that the entire cell block is powered and running efficiently, otherwise …it’s just one giant pile o’ bryxx funded by the taxes of the local human and alien citizens of the sector within.

Inmate observatory windows.

Yep, we here at the forthcoming  Space Police HQ like to keep a close eye on our inmates. You’ve seen the damage of what a single certain imprisoned human doctor by the name of Hannibal Lecter can do, these freaks deserve no less privacy. Video camera is constantly streaming live footage of the goings-on in the vicinity of the cell block.

A not-so happy couple.

Maybe we’ll let’em out one day when they can learn to stop emitting their personal toxic waste in public and into the designated alien waste disposal units set up throughout the sector.Is this considered species profiling????

1.21 Jiggawatts of power.

I saved my favorite feature of this cell block for last. I wanted to show something to simulate lasers in my cell to demonstrate that this is NO jail cell on Earth. Fortunately for them at Space Police HQ, they watched enough “Back to the Future” to learn about harnessing the energy for simple incarceration instead of the physics of time travel. One should see the section of the training video aptly titled “Alien vs. The ‘Lectric Cage. DO NOT EAT WHILE WATCHING!

The next step for the cell is to actually deconstruct the entire build and to film the actual rebuild from scratch and to post the vid here on my blog. The vid will include a full inventory of parts and their respective part #’s. I plan on doing this w/all MOC’s that I show here and this will be an ongoing feature on my blog. It’s just another way to share ideas w/other Lego enthusiasts

Until then,

Brick On!

2 Responses to “MOC Space Police Cell Block”

  1. Jose Camey Says:

    Hey Marcus, I really enjoyed reading your Lego blog. Even though I don’t collect or use Lego since I was a kid, I really enjoyed reading your blog from top to bottom. I love the detail work and all the time spent creating these little cells. Can’t wait for updates. I can see you are really enjoying this hobby. Great job!

  2. Thanks Jose. Will do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

