Lego MOC: Space Police Sentinel concept…..or is it?

SP sentinel in "flight".

Plenty of light-gray bryxx.

Since my son was the age of 4, he’s acquired a great assortment of Legos. The Star Wars theme was the brunt of it….hmmm go figure. But other themes included; Indiana Jones,Power Miners, Atlantis-to name a few.

But these sets have all since been dismantled in their entirety and have found their way into either some 6 qt. “Sterilite” bins, an official “Lego” sorting cabinet or have “passed” through my 2-year old Shih-tzu….S’mores, which is another post in its entirety, so stay tuned for that. LOL.

Basically, I have amassed the following colors that have made their way into the 6-qt bins that I mentioned above:

  • Black
  • Dark-grey
  • Light gray
  • White
  • Red

Several months back, way before I decided to create this Lego blog, I was digging through the light-gray bin of bryxx and was just placing pieces together…or what I refer to it as… “fartin’ around”. I mean…that’s the way I address it when Sebastian asks me what I’m doing when I’m putting Legos together w/no particular plan in mind. I’m just simply assembling pieces to/with other pieces….farting  around.

So after 20 minutes or so of “farting around”, I came up with what I posted above. At first glance- it’s a ship, but that’s the beauty of Lego…it can be whatever I want it to be, but for now….let’s just call it a ship-a “sentinel” to be exact.

"Honey....you've shrunk my cruiser!"

This is considered a “micro-scale” build which means that it’s too micro to fit a minifigure in it. In order for me to fit a minifigure to pilot this thing, I would have to build it at least 4 times the size of its current design (oh geez, another project???)….but then with a pilot inside of it, it would cease to be a sentinel.

But what exactly is it????

On my earlier MOC Space Police Jail Cell post, I did mention my Lego Genre of choice is indeed…the Space Police. Not sure if sales of  the current wave of Space Police sitting on the toy shelves will dictate that we see a third wave of this 3rd go-around of the Space Police…but I will continue to build all things related to them after the genre goes the way of the doh-doh. After all, there are some breath-taking MOC’s (courtesy of Peter Reid aka “Legoloverman”) of the very 1st Lego Space theme that were based on the sets back in the late 1970’s.

As far as my MOC…it is a concept of a Space Police sentinel droid which consists of 19 pieces total. It’s a concept for now due to the fact that it could be used for the infamous “Black Hole” gang if I alter the colors and maybe a very few finishing details, but to make the droid go from concept to an official SP sentinel, I would have to change the colors to its common white with black elements with red & blue sirens affixed.

Most of my concepts will be in (but not limited to) the light-gray, dark gray or black since I have a vast array of different pieces in those colors kept in the bins mentioned above.

I got a couple more MOC’s to showcase which were created  around the same time as the sentinel, so keep an eye out for those as well.

Brick On!

Leave a Reply

