My own parasite.

The beginning of this past week was quite gut-wrenching for me…literally. I was struck with what I believe to be food poisoning. Of course, I’m no doctor but I had more than just “Montezuma’s Revenge” going on inside me to rule out that a few trips to the porcelain god and I’m rid of whatever was ailing me.

In addition to numerous trips to the oval chair, I was struck with body aches and pain. It was work just to get dressed and walk Sebastian to school just down a couple of  a hundred paces or so and back. Luckily, I had bottles of the Kirkland brand (found at Costco) of vitamin water to consume which helped considerably due to the fact that it’s loaded w/electrolytes to replenish what I have lost.

The Culprit?

I’m not 100% certain, but my hunch was the flour tortilla that was in my son’s bean and cheese burrito from this place down the street from us. He was struck w/some kind of bug earlier last week but he didn’t have all the other symptoms like I had. But I ate his burrito that was left over from a couple of days prior as a late night snack, a few hours later…I would rise from bed and begin several trips to the head the entire morning which put me in a zombie state due to the lack of sleep I got. Didn’t even get to finish my daily AM cup of Sumatran Reserve to make matters worse.

The day was a complete loss as I laid in bed all day and trying to keep cool while SoCal was enduring a record-breaking heat wave. It was something like 112°F in my area. I mustered up the strength to go retrieve my son from school and dragged my butt home again only to strip and drop back to bed.

I’m not cooking…no way, no how.

I should mention that I’m Mr. Mom since my son was born 8 years ago, but under the circumstances last week, there was a better chance of Jimmy Hoffa being found vs. me behind the stove. My wife works full time so I don’t expect her to pitch in and cook but she offered to pick up some Carl’s Jr burgers. I opted for the Big Carl which is basically a McDonald’s Big Mac on steroids. I knew something was a miss when it took me 3 times longer to finish my fast food grub, not to mention…the continuing trips to the head. Soon after that, I got myself to bed.

Facing the inevitable.

I got my "E" ticket.

Morning came and so did my first trip to the “john” but I ran out of “tp”. So, into the hall closet I go, but *sniff* *sniff*, what in the world is my wife cooking so early in the morning, wait…onions, Oh geez….no, french onion soup. I immediately headed back to the toilet thanks to the first aroma of the day which did NOT agree w/my stomach and I was slowly realizing that I had the “urge to purge”.

Yep, it’s been awhile since I’ve done that without the aid of alcohol, but after that little episode, suddenly…I felt alot better. Cleaned myself up and got Sebastian ready for another day of school and dropped him off. The next item on my agenda…a nice hot bath while listening to a homemade comp of some indie rock on my MP3 player, just what the doctor ordered. After the tub, I towel dried off and laid back in bed w/the fan on as we were battling a second day of high temps. Also continued the regimen of the vitamin water. Out with the bad and in with the good.

Recovery.

As I awoke from my nap I realized that I slept most of the day and it was once again time to pick up Seb from school but I felt replenished and ready to make the short trek on the hot pavement and back again. I assisted my boy with his homework and took it easy as I was waiting for my wife to return home from work.

Made dinner, cleaned up the kitchen, watched a movie and got Seb ready for his shower and then bed with me almost immediately behind him to settle in for what ended up being the first night of solid sleep since this whole ordeal. I’m giving the burritos from down the street, a break for at least a month or so…just in case. 😉

One Response to “My own parasite.”

  1. Good day!This was a really superb website!
    I come from itlay, I was luck to look for your theme in digg
    Also I obtain much in your website really thanks very much i will come every day

Leave a Reply

