Lego Staircases: The first step.

 

Where's the bathroom?

How’s that for an optical illusion? Look familiar? It’s a Lego rendition of  Escher’s “Relativity”. This particular piece was done by Andrew Lipson and Daniel Shiu. For more mind-bending Lego artwork like the above, click here.

This particular post is about my learning of building staircases. In a previous post about my ongoing (and monstrous) MOC Space Police HQ project, I mentioned that it is going to be a 2 level layout and somewhere amidst the build, I’m going to incorporate a staircase along w/a working hand-crank elevator. However, I was a bit stumped about how I was going to achieve this since I’ve never encountered an official Lego set that featured one, let alone…an MOC.

Problem solved…maybe.

Lego StairsSeveral months back before I properly…er, somewhat  planned out my  HQ, I made a visit to the Lego Store at the Ontario Mills Mall in Ontario, Ca. I checkout out their PAB section and was shocked to discover a bin of what appeared to be these staircases that were 1 whole piece. In my excitement, I picked up as much as I could cram in the larger sized PAB cup and filled it with other bricks on interest that was offered.

When it was actual time to properly plan out the HQ in regards to the color schematic, I was not particularly interested in using the stairs due to the fact that they were black, since the colors that I was using were light bluish-gray and dark bluish gray bryxx. Using the black staircases at this point would be a no-no for me…design wise, they would stand out in an unflattering way.

This just in…

No kidding, as I was looking online for a decent pic of the black staircase that I featured above, I checked out bricklink.com and found the exact same staircase in the dark bluish-gray color. Hallelujah….right? Meh. I’m one detailed oriented son-of-a-gun and no longer did the staircase find a place in my heart or in my proposed project. I’m ditching the idea of using this design all together.

My research paid off.

The major reason about ditching the staircase is mainly because I found some examples of how to make a more detailed but still elementary staircases about a couple of days ago. I visited another Lego site called brickshelf.com which consists of a gallery of images of legos.

Went to the search window and typed in “staircases” and was met w/some good examples of what I was looking for. Particularly, this tutorial. This is not anywhere close what I have in store for my project but it’s a step (no pun intended) in the right direction of how to begin designing my own staircase. This is one of possibly a few hurdles that I needed to overcome in my project. Now all I gotta do is start tinkering. That’s where the learning/discovering begins.

Leave a Reply

